We use cookies to improve your experience of our website. Privacy Policy

Skip to main content

Materials Research Institute



'Strategies toward High Efficiency Organic and Perovskite Solar cells' with 2019 Sustainable Energy Award winner – Professor Yang Yang, University of California

Image: Professor Yang Yang
Professor Yang Yang

Date: 29 January 2020   Time: 14:00 - 15:00

We welcome 2019 Sustainable Energy Award Winner - Professor Yang Yang, University of California, LA. Yang was awarded for extraordinary contributions to the processing of organic and hybrid electronic materials and interfaces, leading to highly efficient solar cells.

Professor Yang Yang is the Carol and Lawrence E. Tannas, Jr. Endowed Chair Professor at the UCLA Samueli School of Engineering. He received his Ph.D. in Physics and Applied Physics from the University of Massachusetts, Lowell in 1992. He was a research staff at UNIAX (now DuPont Display) from 1992 to 1996, before joining UCLA in 1997. Yang is a materials physicist with expertise in the fields of organic electronics, organic/inorganic interface engineering, and devices. His major achievements include pioneering organic photovoltaic (OPV) technology from the perspective of understanding polymer morphology and its effect on electronic properties, control and understanding of metal/organic interfaces, and demonstrating highly efficient tandem OPV devices. His group has achieved several world-record efficiencies and was responsible for many of the breakthroughs that enhanced the efficiencies of OPV devices from ~1% to above 10%. Since 2013, his group has started research on perovskite-based photovoltaics and it has been recognised as one of the top ten research groups in the field by Thomson Reuters. Yang has more than 370 refereed papers, with more than 80 patents filed or issued, and has over 200 plenary and keynote talks. His publications have accumulated more than 96,000 citations and his H-Index is 145 as of April 2019. He is a fellow of Materials Research Society, Royal Society of Chemistry, American Physical Society, Electromagnetic Academy, and SPIE.

Location:  Fogg Lecture Theatre, Mile End Campus, Queen Mary University of London