Close

A note on cookies

We use cookies to improve your experience of our website. If you want to find out more see our Privacy Policy

Menu

Materials Research Institute

People menu

People

Academics

Found 67 matches. Click on a name or photo to view details.

Dr Isaac Abrahams

Senior Lecturer
Department School of Biological and Chemical Sciences
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 3235
Email i.abrahams@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Defect Structure, Neutron Diffraction, Solid State Ionics, Biomedical Glasses, X-ray Diffraction

Dr Maisoon Al-Jawad

Senior Lecturer in Dental Physical Sciences
Department Institute of Dentistry
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 5960
Email m.al-jawad@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords synchrotron x-ray scattering, biomineralization, dental hard tissues, protein binding, neutron scattering

Professor Paul Anderson

Professor of Oral Biology / Leadership Team Member
Department Institute of Dentistry
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 5962
Email p.anderson@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords chemistry of enamel and hydroxyapatite, diffusion processes in enamel

Dr Stellios Arseniyadis

Reader in Organic Chemistry / 
Department School of Biological and Chemical Sciences
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 8445
Email s.arseniyadis@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Organic Chemistry

Dr Helena Azevedo

Reader in Biomedical Engineering & Biomaterials
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 5282
Email h.azevedo@qmul.ac.uk

Prof Cees Bastiaansen

Professor of Materials
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 8865
Email c.w.m.bastiaansen@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Adrian  Baule

Senior Lecturer
Department School of Mathematical Sciences
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 3160
Email a.baule@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Disordered materials, Granular and Soft Matter, Transport processes, Non-equilibrium statistical mechanics

Dr Mark Baxendale

Reader in Nanotechnology
Department School of Physics and Astronomy
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 5795
Email m.baxendale@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords carbon nanotubes, nanotechnology, metrology, thermoelectrics

Dr Emiliano Bilotti

Reader
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 7575
Email e.bilotti@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Polymer Nanocomposites, Pyro-resistive Polymer Composites, Organic Thermoelectrics, Piezo-electric Polymers, High Performance Fibres

Dr Edo Boek

Reader in Chemical Engineering
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 2964
Email e.boek@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords soft matter and complex fluids, transport and flow in porous media (including batteries and fuel cells), (renewable) energy engineering, CO2 sequestration and Enhanced Oil Recovery, multi-scale imaging: micro-fluidics, rheology, X-ray micro-tomography, FIB-SEM

Dr Lorenzo Botto

Visiting Reader in Fluid Mechanics
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 7503
Email l.botto@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords soft matter, fluid mechanics, colloidal and interface science, surface-tension phenomena, applied mathematics

Dr Joe Briscoe

Lecturer in Functional Materials
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 3552
Email j.briscoe@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Andrew  Buchan

Lecturer in Engineering Science
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 6087
Email a.buchan@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords imulation and prediction of the coupled physics of neutron transport, multi-phase fluid flows within nuclear systems, adaptive finite elements, sub-grid scale methods, linear and non-linear stabilization schemes

Prof James Busfield

Professor of Materials / Leadership Team Member
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 8866
Email j.busfield@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Rubber, elastomer components, nano-structured fillers, dynamic elastomeric seals

Prof Andy Bushby

Professor of Materials Science
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 7100
Email a.j.bushby@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Micro-mechanics, Nanoindentation, Nano-structured materials, Biological materials, Electron microscopy

Dr Xacobe Cambeiro

Lecturer in Organic Chemistry
Department School of Biological and Chemical Sciences
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 7710
Email x.cambeiro@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Flynn Castles

Lecturer in the Antennas & Electromagnetics Group / Leadership Team Member
Department School of Electronic Engineering and Computer Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 5331
Email f.castles@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords polymer composites, metamaterials, liquid crystals, active materials

Dr Michael Cattell

Reader in Dental Technology and Biomaterials
Department Institute of Dentistry
Telephone +44 (0)20 7377 7000 x46100
Email m.cattell@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords synthesis, nucleation, crystallization of novel glasses

Dr Gregory Chass

Director of Graduate Studies and Reader in Physical and Theoretical Chemistry
Department School of Biological and Chemical Sciences
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 5835
Email g.chass@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Rachel Crespo-Otero

Senior Lecturer in Computational Chemistry and Director of Chemical Research MSc / Leadership Team Member
Department School of Biological and Chemical Sciences
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 8404
Email r.crespo-otero@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords computational chemistry, computational modelling of reaction mechanisms, energy barriers, Non-adiabatic dynamics

Dr Colin Crick

Senior Lecturer in Materials Science
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Email c.crick@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Water Repellent Materials, Antibiofouling, Functional Materials, Raman Spectroscopy

Dr John Dennis

Reader in Molecular Nanostructural Materials
Department School of Physics and Astronomy
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 3412
Email j.dennis@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Carbon, Fullerenes

Dr Devis Di Tommaso

Lecturer in Computational Chemistry
Department School of Biological and Chemical Sciences
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 6226
Email d.ditommaso@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Stoichko Dimitrov

Lecturer in Chemistry
Department School of Biological and Chemical Sciences
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 8884
Email s.dimitrov@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Kevin Donovan

Reader in Molecular Physics
Department School of Physics and Astronomy
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 3410
Email k.j.donovan@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Molecular Electronics, Electron Transport, Polydiacetylenes, Langmuir-Blodgett Films, Carbon nanotubes

Prof Martin Dove

Director of the Centre for Condensed Matter and Materials Physics
Department School of Physics and Astronomy
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 3426
Email martin.dove@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Local structure, Disordered materials, Atomistic simulation, Neutron scattering, Negative thermal expansion

Professor Alan Drew

Head of CCMMP, Professor of Condensed Matter Physics / MRI Director
Department School of Physics and Astronomy
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 3435
Email a.j.drew@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Muon spin spectroscopy, Organic electronics, Spin dynamics, Magnetism, Optical excitation dynamics

Prof David Dunstan

Professor of Experimental Physics
Department School of Physics and Astronomy
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 3411
Email d.dunstan@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Carbon nanotubes, High pressure, Mechanical properties of metals

Dr Oliver Fenwick

Royal Society University Research Fellow and proleptic Lecturer / Leadership Team Member
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 3150
Email o.fenwick@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords organic electronic materials, supramolecular assembly, biomaterials, thermoelectric

Prof Julien Gautrot

Professor in Biomaterials and Biointerfaces
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 5263
Email j.gautrot@qmul.ac.uk

Prof William Gillin

Professor of Experimental Physics
Department School of Physics and Astronomy
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 5798
Email w.gillin@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Semiconductors, Organic semiconductors, Optoelectronic properties, Spin transport, Organic Photonics

Dr Cristina Giordano

Reader in Chemistry
Department School of Biological and Chemical Sciences
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 6605
Email c.giordano@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Novel synthetic strategies, Characterisation of nanostructures, Nanohybrid, Nanocomposites, Processing

Dr Himadri Gupta

Reader in Bioengineering and Biophysics
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 8867
Email h.gupta@qmul.ac.uk

Prof Robert Hill

Professor of Physical Sciences in Relation to Dentistry
Department Institute of Dentistry
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 5974
Email r.hill@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Karin Hing

Reader in Biomedical Materials
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 7804
Email k.a.hing@qmul.ac.uk

Professor Sir C Humphreys

Professor of Materials Science
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 3450
Email c.humphreys@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords gallium nitride materials and devices, advanced electron microscopy, high-temperature aerospace materials, Graphene

Dr Thomas Iskratsch

Senior Lecturer in Bioengineering
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 3674
Email t.iskratsch@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords cardiomyocyte rigidity sensing mechanism, micro patterned surfaces and nanopil, cardiac remodelling, Mechano-regulation of myofibril formation

Dr Ana Jorge-Sobrido

Senior Lecturer in Energy Materials / Leadership Team Member
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 5582
Email a.sobrido@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Energy materials, PEM electrolysers, PEM fuel cells, Bifunctional oxygen electrocatalysts, Microbial fuel cells

Dr Natalia Karpukhina

Senior Lecturer
Department Institute of Dentistry
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 5975
Email n.karpukhina@qmul.ac.uk

Professor Steffi Krause

Professor of Electroanalytical Systems
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 3747
Email s.krause@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords development of chemical and biological sensors, electrochemical imaging, Light-Addressable Potentiometric Sensors, Scanning Photo-induced Impedance Microscopy, spectroscopy

Dr Theo Kreouzis

Senior Lecturer
Department School of Physics and Astronomy
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 3432
Email t.kreouzis@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Organic semiconductors, Devices, Charge transport, Magnetoresistance

Dr Zhe Li

Senior Lecturer
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Email zhe.li@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Organic solar cells, perovskite solar cells, quantum dot solar cells, semitransparent solar cells, low light energy harvesting device, device physics, structure-function relations, stability,

Dr Alston Misquitta

Lecturer in Condensed Matter and Materials Physics
Department School of Physics and Astronomy
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 3427
Email a.j.misquitta@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Ab initio simulations, Organic materials, Nucleation

Dr Jan Mol

Royal Academy of Engineering Research Fellow, Materials Research Institute Academic Fellow / Leadership Team Member
Department School of Physics and Astronomy
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 6962
Email j.mol@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords atomic- and molecular-scale electronic devices, nanofabrication, quantum phenomena, electronic device scaling

Dr Christian Nielsen

Senior Lecturer / Leadership Team Member
Department School of Biological and Chemical Sciences
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 5902
Email c.b.nielsen@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords organic electronics, organic bioelectronics, semiconducting polymers, materials chemistry

Dr Mario Orsi

Lecturer in Biomedical Engineering & Biomaterials
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 3450
Email m.orsi@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Molecular simulation, Nanomaterials, Interfaces, Membranes, Water

Dr Matteo Palma

Reader in Nanoscience (Associate Professor) / Leadership Team Member
Department School of Biological and Chemical Sciences
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 6601
Email m.palma@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords functional nanostructures, nano-moieties, molecular (opto)electronics, nanopatterned substrates, carbon nanostructures

Dr Dimitrios Papageorgiou

Lecturer in Materials Science
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Email d.papageorgiou@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Polymer Nanocomposites, Nanomaterials, 2D Materials, Graphene, Raman Spectroscopy

Prof Ton Peijs

Professor of Materials
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 8865
Email t.peijs@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Anthony Phillips

Senior Lecturer in Condensed Matter and Materials Physics
Department School of Physics and Astronomy
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 3429
Email a.e.phillips@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Neutron scattering, Disordered materials, Hybrid materials, Negative thermal expansion

Prof Nicola Pugno

Professor of Materials Science
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 6310
Email n.pugno@qmul.ac.uk

Prof Mike Reece

Professor of Functional Ceramics
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 8872
Email m.j.reece@qmul.ac.uk

Prof Marina Resmini

Professor of Materials Chemistry
Department School of Biological and Chemical Sciences
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 3268
Email m.resmini@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Andrei Sapelkin

Senior Lecturer | PhD Tutor
Department School of Physics and Astronomy
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 3414
Email a.sapelkin@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords X-ray absorption spectroscopy, Nanomaterials, Carbon nanotubes, quantum electronics

Dr Stoyan Smoukov

Reader in Chemical Engineering Deputy Chair (Research) of Division of Chemical Engineering & Renewable Energy
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 5305
Email s.smoukov@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords autonomous material robotics, self-sensing materials, artificial morphogenesis, origin of life, phase change

Prof Gleb Sukhorukov

Professor of Biomedical Materials
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 5508
Email g.sukhorukov@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Petra Szilágyi

Lecturer in Functional Materials
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 7948
Email p.szilagyi@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords materials for energy applications, fuel synthesis, metal-organic frameworks, functional materials

Prof Liz Tanner

Bonfield Professor of Biomedical Materials / Leadership Team Member
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 6785
Email k.e.tanner@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords biomaterials, bone and joint replacement, bioactive ceramics, bioactive polymers

Prof Magdalena Titirici

Professor in Materials Science
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 6272
Email m.m.titirici@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Hydrothermal Carbonization, Fuel Cells and ORR, Energy Storage, CO2 Capture, Biofuels

Prof Kostya Trachenko

Professor of Physics / Leadership Team Member
Department School of Physics and Astronomy
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 6547
Email k.trachenko@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Molecular dynamics simulations, Radiation damage, liquids, glasses, disordered materials

Prof Tony Vlcek

Professor of Inorganic Chemistry
Department School of Biological and Chemical Sciences
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 3260
Email a.vlcek@qmul.ac.uk

Dr Roberto Volpe

Lecturer in Chemical Engineering
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 7748
Email r.volpe@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords renewables, sustainable energy, Gasification of solid fuels, biomass char

Prof Huasheng Wang

Professor of Thermofluids Engineering
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 7921
Email h.s.wang@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Enhanced heat transfer, Condensation, Sustainable thermal energy systems, Phase change, Intelligent buildings

Dr Peter Wyatt

Senior Lecturer
Department School of Biological and Chemical Sciences
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 3267
Email p.b.wyatt@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Organic Synthesis, Photonics, Amino acid chemistry

Dr Haixue Yan

Senior Lecturer
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 5164
Email h.x.yan@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Ferroelectrics, Ceramics, Thermoelectrics, Spark Plasma Sintering, Nanotechnology

Dr Ali Zarbakhsh

Senior Lecturer
Department School of Biological and Chemical Sciences
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 3259
Email a.zarbakhsh@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Surfaces and interfaces, Drug Delivery & Biosensors, Membrane transport, Metal oil interface /Lubricant additives, Neutron and X-ray scattering

Dr Han Zhang

Lecturer in Chemical and Materials Engineering
Department School of Engineering and Materials Science
Telephone +44 (0)20 7882 2726
Email han.zhang@qmul.ac.uk
Keywords Conductive polymer composites, CNT/polymer composites, Damage sensing in FRP, CFRP/GFRP, Graphene/epoxy composites

^ Back to Top